Half The Woman She Once Was.

I’ve wanted to write this particular blog for a long time, but the the timing was never right and the goaL wasn’t met. After seeing my friend and co-worker’s recent vacation pictures, I knew the time had come.

Tonight’s blog is about sheer determination and the will to succeed. I met DeAnn in 2017 when I took a position in the same office as her. My first impression of her was that she was just a ball of laughter. She still is one of the most positive people that I know.

In the Spring of 2019, DeAnn decided she was going to make another attempt at losing weight. Though I vocally supported her and considered myself one of her biggest cheerleaders, I wondered if this “diet” would last longer than the last one, and the one before that. And the one before that.

The days turned into weeks. Weeks into months, and now we are well over a year. A million bottles of water later along with a whole lifestyle change has left her HALF the woman she once was. She’s lost 110 pounds, went down 12 pants sizes…. from a 22 to 8/10.

She had her eye on the prize. And she’s won it. It was never a goal of losing 110 pounds. It was 5 pounds. Five more pounds. Five more. She made incredibly reachable small goals…. the gal is a genius!


Her story reminds me that we can’t achieve our goals until we are ready to give up the things that keep us from being focused on our goals. I’ve witnessed her remove thing after thing that stood between her and her journey. I’ve had the absolute honor to watch her blossom. Another blessing that I’ve witnessed is that her husband, John, was very vocal about loving all her “curves” to start with, loves her for what’s inside that now size 8 body, not the outside. I used to get on him at the Christmas gatherings because he could never keep his hands of his bride. Now that she’s skinny, the only thing that’s changed is that he has probably had to pick up speed chasing her around the kitchen table. 🤣. I’ve seen a few friends who “changed” with theIt weight loss, and the marriage suffered. not these two. John and DeAnn bless me when I seen them together. 20 years down, a hundred more to go.

Anyway, I just wanted to brag on my friend and encourage any of you that may be about to embark on a similar journey.

Until next time,

The BeanCounter

Leave a comment