Though you slay me, Lord.

This particular blog started tonight with me typing what should have been a simple group message of encouragement and daily devotion to some special ladies. By the 3rd paragraph( in a text, mind you!) I quickly realized that I would have probably been sent a dozen of those snarky messages back that ask “Please do not send me group texts!”. This message is deep. I don’t particularly like sharing devotions because I fear that I’m taking scripture out of context. Today’s scripture/devotion is one that God has been dealing with me on years about. If I have any confidence in any, this is one that HE has revealed to me many, many times. And although I don’t understand it per se, I’ve come to the realization that it’s NOT for me to understand. We are commanded to “rejoice” in it and glorify Him.

Suffering. We all have sufferings of a different nature. Scripture says that we can expect it.

1 Peter 4:12-13;16 says….

12 Beloved, do not think it strange concerning the fiery trial which is to try you, as though some strange thing happened to you; 13 but rejoice to the extent that you partake of Christ’s sufferings, that when His glory is revealed, you may also be glad with exceeding joy…… 16 Yet if anyone suffers as a Christian, let him not be ashamed, but let him glorify God in this [d]matter.

Glorify God in our suffering??

For me, how can I praise God for taking my boys daddy? How can I share God‘s love and mercies confidently and joyfully when He has allowed Preston to be an invalid? I have a friend reading this whose husband has terminal cancer, and she’s struggling financially trying to make ends meet and care for him. I have another friend whose life looks so perfect from the outside, yet her husband is a financially successful drug addict. She’s a true ray of sunshine. I have another friend that will read this that boasts about how great her marriage is, but it’s really on the rocks. Everyone seems to know but her. She’s hiding behind her suffering. My heart hurts for my friends.

I have another friend whose husband left her in the middle of what was supposed to be almost paradise, with only one of half a dozen kids left at home. They were supposed to start this new season of their lives full of life and renewed zest. Instead, he’s with a new woman. My heart hurts for her, I seem so empty in trying to encourage her.

The sufferings seem to be endless. But I don’t believe it is in vain.

We are never so thankful for our health until we’ve suffered a long illness. We treasure our marriages after it has been on the rocks. For me, I didn’t get that chance with the boys‘ dad, Joseph, but I certainly appreciate Preston. I understand after suffering the loss of him what it means to love in a different way. My boys love in a different way after their sufferings. They tell everyone they love them, even at almost 19 and 21 years old.

How do you be glad? I don’t think it’s possible to be “glad” for the fires we endure. But we can be glad for things that surround it. For me, I’m so thankful that Joseph left his boys a legacy that will live on forever. He loved them more than anything. I thank God for that daily. I can be thankful for the miracles God has done in Preston’s journey. Even in these last few months, it’s been incredible. Preston has always wondered why God spared him. It is being revealed more and more every day. I believe that Preston will spend his last breathe praising God and sharing His promises.

My own mother-in-law has suffered tremendous losses in losing her son, then her husband, and now on on medical journey that has seen it’s own miracles but left her struggling. Where’s the joy? The joy is in her grandchildren. In the legacy that Chuck left….. he was sold out for God. She’s an overcomer and will come out stronger.

Matter of fact, I know she, I, and everyone one of you that are suffering will be better than okay. God promised me. And you. Peter 5:10 says…. “In His kindness, God called you to HIS eternal glory by means of Jesus Christ. After you have suffered a little while, HE will restore you, support you, and strengthen you, and HE will place you on a firm foundation.”

That my friends, is how I know we are going to be okay!

Lastly, most of you know that I’ll never be able to appreciate the sound of music behind these words, I love the lyrics. If you’ve never heard it, I encourage you to. It’s called “Though you slay me” by Shane and Shane.

I come, God, I come
I return to the Lord
The one who’s broken
The one who’s torn me apart
You struck down to bind me up
You say You do it all in love
That I might know You in Your sufferingThough You slay me
Yet I will praise You
Though You take from me
I will bless Your name
Though You ruin me
Still I will worship
Sing a song to the one who’s all I needMy heart and flesh may fail
The earth below give way
But with my eyes, with my eyes I’ll see the Lord
Lifted high on that day
Behold, the Lamb that was slain
And I’ll know every tear was worth it allThough You slay me
Yet I will praise You
Though You take from me
I will bless Your name
Though You ruin me
Still I will worship
Sing a song to the one who’s all I need

God bless you all!

Love you. mean it.

The BeanCounter


Leave a comment